Our People

Our Trustees

Jane Wrightson


Jane Wrightson is the Retirement Commissioner and head of Te Ara Ahunga Ora Retirement Commission. She has had a long career in the media and cultural sector. She is a governor of RNZ and a former director of several national sporting and media entities. Jane is a former chief executive of public media funder NZ On Air, overseeing the strategy and allocation of over $130m of cultural funding each year. She has also headed the Broadcasting Standards Authority and screen advocacy body SPADA.

Peter Johnston


Peter is Chair of Partners at Rainey Collins Lawyers and heads their Maori Legal Issues team.

His other current roles include Chair of the NZ Riding for the Disabled Association Perpetual Members Trust, Trustee of the Henwood Trust, Board Member of the NZ Riding for the Disabled Association and Advisory Trustee to a Maori land block. Peter is also an external Specialist Advisor and Legal Aid Auditor to the Ministry of Justice.

Of Ngati Porou descent Peter is a former Chairman of Te Awe Wellington Maori Business Network. In this role he worked closely with regional and national business networks.

Heather Galbraith


Professor Heather Galbraith was appointed a trustee in late 2021 and has a strong arts background. She is Massey University’s Director Postgraduate for the College of Creative Arts and was previously the Head of Whiti o Rehua School of Art.

Heather has held numerous senior curatorial roles including at Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, City Gallery Wellington and SCAPE Public Art in Christchurch.

She has also played a pivotal role in New Zealand’s Venice Biennale art projects, including co-curator for Francis Upritchard’s Save Yourself (2009) and Commissioner for Simon Denny Secret Power (2015).

Heather undertook her postgraduate studies in curatorial practice at Goldsmiths College London.

Peter Jackson


Peter is a cultural consultant of Te Atiawa and Taranaki Iwi descent. He helps organisations to fulfil their Treaty of Waitangi obligations. He has a Bachelor of Commerce & Administration from Victoria University of Wellington.

A background in IT, property investment and small business ownership has provided him with a solid understanding of the mechanics of organisational success. Peter is a director on a number of iwi and community boards which include the Wellington Tenths Trust, Adult Community Education Aotearoa and Early Childhood New Zealand.

Martin Matthews


Martin has held several senior executive roles in the public sector. He was previously New Zealand’s Controller and Auditor-General and Secretary for Transport. For ten years he was also the Chief Executive of the Ministry for Culture and Heritage.

Martin is now working as a consultant and director. He is currently also the Independent Chair for Greater Wellington Regional Council’s Finance, Risk and Assurance Committee.

Earlier in his career Martin was an Assistant Auditor-General where he helped design aspects of the New Zealand public management system, including the Public Finance and Audit Acts. Martin is a Fellow of the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and has an honours degree in Economics.

Suzanne Snively


Suzanne joined the Board at the end of May 2022. She is a Wellingtonian with a love of a city that has a strong sense of community and diversity with a focus on the wellbeing of its residents, enriching their lives through support of culture, the arts, innovation and creativity. Suzanne was awarded Wellingtonian of the Year in 2013.

Ben McNulty


Ben is a Council appointed trustee and Wellington City Councillor for the Takapū/Northern Ward. He has a Bachelor of Business from Massey University and joined the board of Experience Wellington in late 2022.

Ben’s background is in financial services and marketing. Prior to being elected to council he worked across the insurance, financial planning and funds management sectors in both Australia and New Zealand.